Vanderbilt Journal of Transnational Law


Homer O. Blair

First Page



For a number of years, negotiations have been taking place on an international scale, usually under the auspices of the United Nations or one of its specialized agencies, on a wide variety of subjects involving technology transfer between the developed countries (the North) and the less developed or developing countries (the South). Three primary groups are involved in the United Nations negotiations. The first is known as the Group of 77, which now includes more than 120 developing countries, including countries in South and Central America, Africa, and Asia. Within this group the degree of development varies from countries such as Brazil, Argentina, and Mexico, which are quite developed, to the least developed countries, which include very large countries such as Bangladesh and very small countries, a number of which have recently become independent. Group B, the second major group, includes the developed, market-oriented countries, which include those of Western Europe, the United States, Canada, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand. The third major group, Group D, includes the Soviet Union and other Eastern European socialist nations. The comparative development of Group D countries sometimes leads them to agree with Group B countries on transfer of technology items. In other cases, they align themselves with the developing countries. These groups are not always defined strictly in accordance with economic terms because political considerations often prevail.